Ben Silbermann’s Post

Earlier today, I shared with the Pinterest team that I’m transitioning to a new role, Executive Chairman. I’m excited that our new CEO will be Bill Ready. You can read the note I sent to our team here: https://lnkd.in/dn3dhFXg I’m so excited about the future with Bill Ready at the helm.   I wanted to share 2 things here on LinkedIN.   First, I want to thank all of you who use Pinterest. The best part of my job is hearing how people use our product to get inspiration for every part of their lives—from the everyday things to the epic moments. With your passion and feedback, the entire Pinner community has inspired me to do my very best over the past decade as CEO. Thank you for believing in us. I couldn’t be more grateful.    Second, I want to thank every employee—past and present—who helped build Pinterest. So much attention goes to founders and CEOs. But the truth is, everything worth building is built by a team. I feel so lucky that thousands of exceptional, wildly talented, creative and kind people joined our journey. Being part of the Pinterest team with all of you has always been the best part of the job. You’ve brought me so much joy and taught me a ton. From the bottom of my heart, thank you.    With all my love and gratitude,    Ben

Pinterest Appoints Bill Ready CEO; Co-Founder and CEO Ben Silbermann Transitions to Executive Chairman

Pinterest Appoints Bill Ready CEO; Co-Founder and CEO Ben Silbermann Transitions to Executive Chairman

newsroom.pinterest.com

Michelle Parise

Chief of Staff, ex-Pinterest

2y

Gosh, how many peoples lives were changed for the better because of you Ben?! You’ve always been the most thoughtful, kind, intelligent, generous person with a work ethic that is unparalleled. We’re all so incredibly fortunate to have been there for that amazing moment in time. You’ve more than earned some very well deserved time to enjoy yourself, cheers to you!🥂📌❤️

Enid Hwang

Community Builder. Start-Up Advisor.

2y

I loved Pinterest as soon as I signed up. I loved it even more working there. I loved it most working with you. I’m far from the only one who feels the same way, but maybe as one of the first Pinners who became an employee, I do feel entitled to say thanks back not only for myself but all the other lives you changed with incredible experiences, unexpected adventures, big challenges, little wins, laugh-till-you-cries, endless inspiration, and some damn good sheet pan recipes. You deserve some gratitude too—and a very healthy break till the next amazing thing you choose. ❤📌 Big, big hug.

You created something so spectacular, Ben. Pinterest changed my life in so many positive ways. I used it to plan my wedding, my daughter's rooms, and endless meals that are a part of my family's happiest memories. And working with you and the others at Pinterest was the best experience of my entire career. I'm not sure anything will ever top it. Thank you for everything. Excited for you in this next chapter. 📌

“It’s kind of fun to do the impossible.”  That's exactly what you've done and it's been a lot of fun watching you do it! When we met I thought I'd never met someone who understood or loved the internet as much as you did - and now you've created a core piece of it. From a crazy idea with a sketchy office to everything it is today... it's been amazing to witness the passion and care you've put into the product, users and especially your team. I'm really excited for the new role and hope it is a lot like the early days. Excited to see a few more of your endless ideas come to life.

"Appreciation is a wonderful thing. It makes what is excellent in others belong to us as well." We appreciate you and the opportunity to work together more than you will ever know.

Congrats on the run Ben! I know i'm not alone when I say that the opportunity you gave me shaped so much of my professional and personal life. I wouldn't change those early years for anything. Wishing you the best in this new stage of your life.

Bin Liu

Heads-down BUILDING!

2y

Thank you Ben for your incredible leadership over the past decade for all of us to be able to work on such an amazing product with a team that felt like family. Thank you for all the support and mentorship over the years, I'm so personally grateful for all the opportunities you created at Pinterest. Congrats on the transition, I'm sure we will continue to work on exciting projects together for Pinterest! 👨💻

Silvia Oviedo Lopez

Product and Content Executive | Angel investor | Advisor

2y

What a run, Ben! Thanks for redefining what creativity means and touching (and inspiring) so many lives. Wishing you (and the Pin Factory!) all the best in this new chapter! And thank you so much for the opportunity of being part of the journey - Pinterest was the first time in my professional career where I truly felt that the sky was the limit, and that feeling of opportunity and making things happen is something that I'll always take with me ❤ 📌

Amanda Switzer

Communications | Brand Mktg | Operations

2y

Thank you for not only creating Pinterest (the best product in the world) but a place that I truly love to work every single day. From the early days till now your thoughtful leadership, compassion, jokes, and brilliant ideas have been so very appreciated and it has been a true privilege to work with you. I’ll miss seeing you in all hands and around the Pin but we’ll never forget what you’ve done for us and this company. Thank you for the endless inspiration.

Gregory Bell

Partner, Fenway Strategies

2y

I had my first and only ever panic attack in Ben’s office. I was in the middle of two huge projects and exhausted. The room was full of a bunch of people. And it just happened out of nowhere. At first I was embarrassed. But Ben expressed such empathy and concern in the moment and after. I’ll always remember that more than any business outcome.

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics