Fender Musical Instruments Corporation’s Post

View organization page for Fender Musical Instruments Corporation, graphic

126,435 followers

Fender CEO, Andy Mooney, discusses the enduring legacy of the iconic Stratocaster on its 70th Anniversary celebration in an exclusive Q&A with Steve Baltin and Forbes. See more, plus hear insights from featured campaign artists Rebecca Lovell and Jimmie Vaughan: https://lnkd.in/e3aAk9ed

Q&A: Celebrating 70 Years Of The Fender Stratocaster

Q&A: Celebrating 70 Years Of The Fender Stratocaster

forbes.com

Yao Lin

Lead of Data Science | CPO at InQuartik

4mo

The first guitar I bought after my beginner's one was a Fender Stratocaster '57 vintage. During my green years, when I was heavily into high-gain metal music, I must admit this guitar gave me quite a bit of trouble. However, I'm grateful I didn't give up on it. I've been playing guitar for 20 years, and it's only in the past five that I've slowly come to appreciate its beauty. I think I'll never sell it. Maybe I'll consider being cremated with it and my dozen other guitars after I pass away 😂.

  • No alternative text description for this image

Well, ok, I started on strats and played many versions for many years, but I settled on Esquires....we have already had the 'Telebration' for the 'paddle' and the one pickup wonder.....

  • No alternative text description for this image
Steve Pitts

Guitarist/Tutor/Session Musician.

4mo

There are many pretenders today but there is only one true Strat. Leo got it bang on first time, how many other manufacturers have done that? A true icon of design. As a professional musician and guitar tutor it is a pleasure to play my Fender instruments every day. I haven’t parted with any of my guitars amongst which include a 91 USA Standard, 92 AVRI Tele, 92 USA Richie Sambora signature, American Original 60’s Tele. Pictured is my 2011 Custom Shop Deluxe.

  • No alternative text description for this image
Darryn Hall

Manager at In2work and Konektor Apps - 29.5k+ connections.

4mo

Hard to believe a design that is 70 years old is still one of the most popular guitars on the planet.

Alan Fitzwater FCMI MIoD

Executive Director of Membership, Marketing & Biz Dev at Family Business UK | Driving Record Membership & Income Growth. Membership, Subscription, NFP/Charity Consultant & Advisor/Chair.

4mo

Great design Is timeless. Imagine assisting some of our most incredible artists to make unforgettable music...,and barely changing over 7+ decades. Of course there are a million different Strats out there (many being proudly shared on here) but they all share that instantly recognisable strat shape. A perfect piece of enduring engineering, that isn't just a tool, it's an enabler of life changing sounds. With a new strat "hero" in every generation. Congrats to all at Fender Musical Instruments Corporation for continuing to honour Leo Fender's classic.

Eric Proctor (retd)

ICT Technician at Glasgow Kelvin College (Springburn Campus).

4mo

Have a 2006, 60th Fender anniversary, USA strat deluxe, kinda like the guitar, with it's noiseless pickups and S1 switching but hate the aluminium/silver body colour. Cool 60th anniversary button badge, on back of the headstock though, nice cosmetic touch. My goto Fender, if I'm honest, is my 2010, American Special Telecaster, although, if truth be told, I've fitted a Babicz bridge, so, no longer stock but even though, I love my Tele, I have to say, some things you play, just can't be done without the Stratocaster, it is the most versatile guitar, on the planet, in my very humble opinion.

Like
Reply
Christopher Glancy

Creative, Technology, Marketing, Partnerships

4mo

I have the custom shop relic version of the Stratocaster Jimi is holding here. The exact same one in olympic white I will never sell it as watching Jimi play the star spangled banner on TV as a kid is what made me want to play the guitar in the first place

Brandi Parker

Multidisciplinary Creative | Branding Sustainability Consultant | Fractional & Independent | Sustainable Materials & Packaging Expert | Owner

4mo

I have a 1991 Fender Stratocaster US Standard Deluxe in white with rosewood fingerboard. I started taking guitar lessons when I was 12. My parents told me that if I could stick with lessons for a year, that I could get an electric guitar. Meanwhile I was learning on a toy acoustic (probably from Sears). I kept my side of the deal, so my parents kept theirs. They asked me what kind of electric guitar that I wanted— that was easy— I'd recently seen the smash hit, "Wayne's World,' and that scene in the movie, where Wayne is saving up to buy 'excalibur' the white strat in the music store, was my inspiration. (Of course, shortly after this I would discover Jimi Hendrix, reinforcing my choice.) Christmas Eve, 1991, I opened that brand new guitar case under the tree. It was perfect. I will never, ever sell this guitar. I still own it, still play it— it's my main instrument. Happy 70 years to the Stratocaster! Thank you for being my guitar voice. And, thank you for all of the happy memories. Fender Musical Instruments Corporation Andy Mooney

David ZIEGLER

Technicien Informatique / Technico-commercial / Formateur / Accompagnateur en processus de vente 👇

4mo

Happy 70th anniversary #Fender #Stratocaster ! ❤️🎸 il y a 10 ans je voulais m'offrir une strat "deluxe"... J'en rêvais... Malheureusement 1 mois jour pour jour avant mon anniversaire je me suis cassé le poigné gauche ! 😲😖 Je suis allé aux urgences, et j'ai pleuré (oui) à l'idée que je ne pourrais plus poser mes doigts sur une 6 cordes... 😢 Sans rééducation il m'a fallu 7 mois avant de pouvoir gratter de nouveau une guitare, en passant par le Ukulele en mode Gibsy King pour rééduquer mon poignet... J'ai donc raté la strat 60th anniversary... mais un an après j'ai quand même réalisé mon rêve ! 🙏🎸 #FenderForEver 💪😉🤘 P.S. : je suis pro fender ! 😁

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics