monday.com’s Post

View organization page for monday.com, graphic

240,670 followers

Disconnecting from work while on vacation sounds a lot easier than it actually is. What boundaries are you setting to prep for a work free vacation?

Vladislav Shimko

Leader and Innovator | Initiator of Workplace Mental Health Programs | Promoting Conscious Leadership and Mental Health | Path to Inclusive Education for Children with Special Needs

2w

Disconnecting from work during a vacation can indeed be more challenging than it seems.  It is important to follow some rules - advance planning, informing colleagues, a few weeks before the vacation, delegation, and a particularly important point is mental preparation.   Rest as a priority, remember that vacation is a time for rest and recuperation. Try to mentally disconnect from work and focus on relaxing and your hobbies.  ✔ Setting clear boundaries and preparing for the vacation will help you fully enjoy your rest and return to work with renewed energy and enthusiasm. 😉

Nicole Ossevoort

Award-winning digital communications professional and working mom.

2w

My #1 boundary? I don't bring my work phone! I'm fortunate enough to have a team who will cover me in my well-deserved absence! Planning can be stressful, but I try to respond to emails, clean up my inbox, and delegate any tasks before I shut my laptop and hit the road.

Tara Horn

monday.com Certified Partner & Implementation Consultant I Simplifying & optimizing workflows for clients in monday.com

2w

Such a challenge to actually do this! I fully blocked off my calendar so no one schedules a meeting for me and then I am in full control if I do need to schedule something. Also having an awesome team that has your back like mine at Simpleday helps a lot!

Dan Chelgren

Senior Video Content Creator at monday.com

2w

Boundaries are everything! I've found that it helps me to set a dedicated 30-minute window to check on work messages while on vacation. Doing this 2-3 times while away gives me peace of mind knowing I won't be totally out of the loop when I return, while removing the urge to constantly check in. If going 100% off the grid causes more stress than it's worth for you, I'd give this approach a try!

Personally, I spend some extra time anticipating potential roadblocks my team may face while I'm away and creating a list of resolutions or who else can be relied on to answer a question while I'm OOO. Usually I find that very few of these roadblocks come to fruition, they are handled smoothly thanks to my planning, and I feel extra accomplished seeing all the potential roadblocks were not a problem after all!

Patrick Kool

Monday.com Expert - I Fix Inefficient Processes for B2B Businesses

2w

It feels impossible to me to have a vacation that's fully work free! Can't give you guys a good answer this time 😄

Ethan Sayagh

Monday.com Expert Certified Partner | Co-founder @Ethanolle the Monday.com agency | Solution Architect & Automation.

2w

I'm creating automation on all of the boards in my workspace. When a task is assigned to Ethan, trigger a notification stating: 'Ethan is on vacation; leave him alone! 😂

Laura D.

Senior Sales Executive

2w

I am going on holiday in a few weeks and i intend to give myself 2 windows a day to check my emails. As a sales person it is very hard to create boundaries as ultimately i have a target to achieve.

Turning off notifications - and maybe even deleting your work messenger and email apps - is simple but can be very effective!

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics