Google Vault - exclude a single user (e.g. CEO) where entire workspace is licensed (Business Plus)

Good Afternoon,

We have recently been forced to "upgrade" from GSuite Basic with the Google Vault addon licensed for a subset of our users, to Google Workspace Business Plus for all of our users.

Whilst the additional storage space etc from the upgrade is a good thing, now that all users have been upgraded and have vault licensing included, seemingly there is no way to exclude specific users from automatically having all their emails viewable via any user who can access Google Vault?

As a Super Admin, I can unfortunately see all emails within our business on Vault, including emails sent and received by our General Manager / CEO, and confidential emails to our HR department.

Similarly I've had to remove vault access from our H.R. department, as they shouldn't be able to view the General Manager's emails!

The only suggestion made so far, has been to change retention settings on Vault - but this will potentially remove emails from the General Manager's Account!!!

I cannot believe that this is acceptable?

2 7 1,630
7 REPLIES 7

You should restrict the number of people in the organisation with Super admin access as they will have access to view data in Google Vault. You can then create Admin specific roles for other users who legitimately need to complete e-Discovery  tasks. For other Admins turn off the Vault service.

An important part of managing Vault and who did what i is to have a good business process of approval's.  Assign specific people Security/Audit team to be responsible for reviewing the Vault Audit logs. So if for example you had done a search on the CEO and this had not been approved by HR or legal, then the person auditing would be responsible for checking.