The Goodreads Guide to Summer Reading

Posted by Sharon on May 13, 2024
Goodreads Guide to Summer Reading 2024
Goodreads' annual guide to the best books to read this summer is here! Discover the season's buzziest new books, check out the year's most popular books so far (according to your fellow readers), find stories to match your reading mood, and more!



 


The Hit Books of the Year (So Far)

Check out the most popular new titles, according to Goodreads members



 


The Most Read Books of the 2024 Reading Challenge

Get inspired with these unputdownable books 





Readers' Most Anticipated Books of Summer

Discover the new books everyone will be talking about



 


Reading Roadtrip: A Book Tour of the USA

51 new novels to sweep you away on a literary adventure 





Book Recs for (Nearly) Every Kind of Summer Reader

120 titles to match all kinds of reading moods and personalities, all season long

 


More great summer reading awaits:







 
What are your summer reading plans?
 
Let us know in the comments!
 
 

Comments Showing 1-50 of 137 (137 new)


message 1: by Law (last edited May 13, 2024 04:18PM) (new)

Law So many books, so little time. Where to start?


message 2: by mireya (new)

mireya grasso ₊˚ෆ I'm going to read a lot over the summer


message 3: by Robert (new)

Robert There are a few other good thriller novels that are projected to be released between June and September::
1) Red Sky Mourning -- Jack Carr
2) Red Star Falling -- Steve Berry / Grant Blackwood
3) Family Experiment -- John Marrs
4) Death in Cornwall -- Daniel Silva
5) Shadow of Doubt -- Brad Thor
6) Arkangel -- James Rollins
7) The Mistress and the Key -- Ben Mezrich
8) Code of Arms -- Jack Slater
9) Eruption -- Michael Crichton / James Patterson


Alexia・゚゚・。༉‧₊˚. ❧ Mireya wrote: "I'm going to read a lot over the summer"

Honestly this is so real


message 5: by Bridgette (last edited May 13, 2024 06:21PM) (new)

Bridgette Roth I want to read The hunger games, Percy Jackson, Lord of the rings,The Hobbit, and finish he Harry Potter series


message 6: by Lyaeh (new)

Lyaeh Kinda wanna get into my Stephen King era ngl


message 7: by Jillian (new)

Jillian Who needs sleep when you have a TBR two miles long??


message 8: by Brandy (new)

Brandy S I need more hours in the day!


message 9: by Michelle (new)

Michelle Candela anyone recommend a good series for a 11 year old girl to read this summer? looking for something for my daughter to get into reading like me!


Mon ❀ مؤمنه Bridgette wrote: "I want to read The hunger games, Percy Jackson, Lord of the rings,The Hobbit, and finish he Harry Potter series"
ME TOOOOO. ALL THE SAME THINGS!!


message 11: by Gill (new)

Gill Michelle wrote: "anyone recommend a good series for a 11 year old girl to read this summer? looking for something for my daughter to get into reading like me!"

i read the summer i turned pretty series when i was younger and they're pretty easy to read and the story is so good and jenny han is a great writer. hope if you suggest that to her she likes it!


message 12: by Sameer (new)

Sameer Rajakumar Im gonna read the Last Murder At The End Of The World by Turton Stewart , Four Eid’s And A Funeral by Faridah Abike Iyimide. The White Guy Dies First by Faridah Abike Iyimide ( all 2024 upcoming books), and also want to read in summer if it’s still not in hold Iron Flame by Rebecca Yarros.


message 13: by Sam (new)

Sam Michelle wrote: "anyone recommend a good series for a 11 year old girl to read this summer? looking for something for my daughter to get into reading like me!"
Morrigan Crow? Or the Murder Most Unladylike series


message 14: by Sameer (new)

Sameer Rajakumar @Michelle Candela tell ur daughter to read A Boy Called Christmas series , it’s absolutely brilliant I read it plus it’s also movies on Netflix, see link https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3...


message 15: by Gabriella (new)

Gabriella Michelle wrote: "anyone recommend a good series for a 11 year old girl to read this summer? looking for something for my daughter to get into reading like me!"
You should try keeper of the lost cities by Shannon Messenger


message 16: by Sameer (new)

Sameer Rajakumar @Michelle Candela it’s actually 3 books n I gave u da link for only two books in the series sorry here is the link for the trilogy https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3...


message 17: by Adrienne (new)

Adrienne Dembicki Michelle Candela, she may like the “I am number four” series. I loved them!


message 18: by Hajira (new)

Hajira Imran Tbh I just want to get out of my slump. Recently been reading more, from 'All This Twisted Glory' to 'Fahrenheit 451' to '1984' to 'Looking for Alaska'. I want to start getting into classics and also back into fantasy bc so many books are finally coming out in the summer.


message 19: by Kate (new)

Kate Michelle wrote: "anyone recommend a good series for a 11 year old girl to read this summer? looking for something for my daughter to get into reading like me!" I loved the Sisters Grimm when I was 11! 9 book series so its a perfect summer challenge. This series kick started my love of reading and I would recommened it to anyone!


message 20: by Robin (new)

Robin Bridgette wrote: "I want to read The hunger games, Percy Jackson, Lord of the rings,The Hobbit, and finish he Harry Potter series"
Read a few of these and would love to read again


message 21: by Kristina (new)

Kristina Alexia・゚゚・。༉‧₊˚. ❧ wrote: "Mireya wrote: "I'm going to read a lot over the summer"

Honestly this is so real"


Real


message 22: by Jenifer (new)

Jenifer Michelle wrote: "anyone recommend a good series for a 11 year old girl to read this summer? looking for something for my daughter to get into reading like me!"

If you’re a reader you probably know all the best. The Little House series, cherry Ames series, Trixie Beldan series, Nancy Drew. I know these are oldies, but their stories are good. No worries of sex, violence, profanity
, just good, wholesome stories! Good luck! 👍


message 23: by anna (new)

anna drew Bridgette wrote: "I want to read The hunger games, Percy Jackson, Lord of the rings,The Hobbit, and finish he Harry Potter series"

I love all of these books


message 24: by Nicole Raufi (new)

Nicole Raufi @michelle candela

The inheritance games

The selection series


message 25: by Awjtf (new)

Awjtf Summer reading program at the library is fun! I read other genres of books to try and fill in the gameboard!


message 26: by Irene (new)

Irene Sciascia Michelle wrote: "anyone recommend a good series for a 11 year old girl to read this summer? looking for something for my daughter to get into reading like me!"
The Babysiters Club series and Emily Windsnap series are great books I read when I was about her age!


message 27: by Carol (new)

Carol Isaacs Michelle wrote: "anyone recommend a good series for a 11 year old girl to read this summer? looking for something for my daughter to get into reading like me!"

Fablehaven, Land of Stories, The Last Apprentice!!!


message 28: by Katie (new)

Katie Finch Michelle wrote: "anyone recommend a good series for a 11 year old girl to read this summer? looking for something for my daughter to get into reading like me!"

A few series I loved when I was that age were the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer (still one of my faves), Legend by Marie Lu, and the Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart. Also, the Percy Jackson books are a modern classic for middle grade books!


trin (Hiatus for the summer) Lyaeh wrote: "Kinda wanna get into my Stephen King era ngl"

yesssssss, he is so good!


message 30: by Kelsey (new)

Kelsey van Dillen Michelle wrote: "anyone recommend a good series for a 11 year old girl to read this summer? looking for something for my daughter to get into reading like me!"

I used to love Harry Potter as a child, doesn't hurt to start with a classic :) And I think that the books by Kerstin Gier (Edelstein-trilogy and Silber, they have been translated to English) are superfun for that age too!!


message 31: by Riley (new)

Riley O’Donnell i’m gonna read sm this summer with all of the road trips hoping to beat my goal by a lot!


message 32: by D.L. (new)

D.L. Michelle wrote: "anyone recommend a good series for a 11 year old girl to read this summer? looking for something for my daughter to get into reading like me!"

I recommend Enola Holmes, Anne of Green Gables, & The Winnie Years by Lauren Myracle. :) One of them is called "Eleven".


message 33: by jules ✞ (new)

jules ✞ Has anyone read happy place by Emily Henry ? Is that summer vibes? ☀️


message 34: by Poomai (new)

Poomai I'm calling it right now, I shall have a bookish summer.


message 35: by Allie (new)

Allie im hoping to read a lot over the summer since the junior year has made it so hard for me to even get a page in :(


message 36: by Jade (new)

Jade Can’t wait to be floating in the pool or alongside the ocean while putting in hours of reading 📖


✧˖° Cleo ✧˖° well, we're heading into winter where i'm from...


message 38: by Naisha (new)

Naisha Jhunjhunwala I have a lot of books to read for the summer so like I am good.


message 39: by Ramin (new)

Ramin This year have a lot of books to buy and read but my free time is limited so i don't know how to do it


message 40: by Cheryl (new)

Cheryl Dean Michelle wrote: "anyone recommend a good series for a 11 year old girl to read this summer? looking for something for my daughter to get into reading like me!"
The granddaughter FINALLY picked up "Island of the Blue Dolphins" and now can't put it down. She likes stuff about magic, dragons, pets, animals...she's read all the Harry Potter books. I have a set of the Hunger Games ready for her, if she wants to read them. Her teacher read aloud "The Giver" and I just ordered a copy for myself (can't believe I've never read it) and also read them "Number the Stars", which she loved. Hope this helps.



message 41: by Cheryl (new)

Cheryl Dean Mon ❀ مؤمنه wrote: "Bridgette wrote: "I want to read The hunger games, Percy Jackson, Lord of the rings,The Hobbit, and finish he Harry Potter series"
ME TOOOOO. ALL THE SAME THINGS!!"

I want to read The Hunger Games. I have the series for the granddaughter, but I might read them first!


message 42: by Cheryl (new)

Cheryl Dean I just finished "A Thousand Splendid Suns" and now I want to read his other books! I'm sending an extra copy to a friend to read, so maybe she'll get hooked, too! That should keep me busy most of the summer, with an extra book or two thrown in. I also just finished Extinction by Douglas Preston. Just got Ali Velshi's new book, "Small Acts of Courage", so I can also fit that in.


message 43: by Candy (new)

Candy The Covenant of Water was outstanding!


message 44: by Patti (new)

Patti Michelle wrote: "anyone recommend a good series for a 11 year old girl to read this summer? looking for something for my daughter to get into reading like me!"

The Unwanteds.


message 45: by Aleah (new)

Aleah Flint Michelle wrote: "anyone recommend a good series for a 11 year old girl to read this summer? looking for something for my daughter to get into reading like me!"

Keeper of the Lost Cities by Shannon Messenger! My favorite when I was her age :)


message 46: by Jacki (new)

Jacki This should keep me going for my 150-book challenge for this year!!


message 47: by Sarah Swaggins (last edited May 18, 2024 12:55PM) (new)

Sarah Swaggins Michelle wrote: "anyone recommend a good series for a 11 year old girl to read this summer? looking for something for my daughter to get into reading like me!"

Ranger's Apprentice by John Flanagan, A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket, the Pegasus series by Kate O'Hern, The Land of Stories by Chris Colfer, and The Wingfeather Saga by Andrew Peterson are all series that got me into reading


message 48: by Cheryl (new)

Cheryl Dean I will definitely look into those for the granddaughter.


message 49: by Ziena (new)

Ziena Michelle wrote: "anyone recommend a good series for a 11 year old girl to read this summer? looking for something for my daughter to get into reading like me!"

"The Land of Stories" series by Chris Colfer. I adored that series!


message 50: by Ziena (new)

Ziena Poomai wrote: "I'm calling it right now, I shall have a bookish summer."

girl for reall


« previous 1 3
back to top