Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

lsquare

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 30, 2010
I'm totally new to MacOS so I need your help. I just bought a brand new WD easystore 18TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive.

I haven't opened it yet. I'm being advised that after opening it and connecting it to the M1 MacBook Air, I should immediately format it as a HFS+ drive. How do I do that?

I'm also being told that I should encrypt the entire drive should I decide to sell the drive in the future. How do I do that? My understanding is that I'll need to set up a password if I decide to encrypt the entire drive. Once I do that, then in the future when I plug and replug the external hard drive, I'm assuming I'll have to enter the password to gain access to the external drive?

Turnpike

macrumors 6502a
Oct 2, 2011
New York City!
I've been using Macs and iPhones since Windows 7. I'm typing on an iMac 12+ hours a day to an UNencrypted disc, just because I always had issues when I tried to do this encrypted, I could never log back in again.

I'm sure I'm not the only one, so in case it's well explained, I'm also following this thread.

Nermal

Staff member
Dec 7, 2002
New Zealand
The first thing I'd ask is whether you're going to use the drive for anything "top secret". The vast majority of second-hand buyers are just going to reformat a drive and use it, not go to great lengths to try to recover any deleted files. In almost all cases, simply formatting the drive before sale is sufficient.

Reactions: Ben J.

lsquare

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 30, 2010
The first thing I'd ask is whether you're going to use the drive for anything "top secret". The vast majority of second-hand buyers are just going to reformat a drive and use it, not go to great lengths to try to recover any deleted files. In almost all cases, simply formatting the drive before sale is sufficient.