Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MarciLK

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 5, 2024
I’m purchasing an iMac and wondering if I should spend the $200 extra for 24 gb for my use, or go with 16 gb. Currently I’m on a 9 yr old PC with 8 gb ram and 1 tb storage. I use Lightroom for photo editing, occasionally Photoshop, but I’m not a professional. Lightroom now has AI features that I would love to use, but my computer won’t run. I was watching a video from 4 years ago that showed the recommended ram for Lightroom as 12 gb, whereas now it’s 16 gb. On the other hand, I’ve watched videos where the performance between 16 gb and 24 gb (usually compared on laptops) is minimal except for the swap used. I keep computers a long time, so I’m thinking the 24 go will accommodate Lightroom upgrades down the line. My computer right now can hardly handle basic masking, so I don’t have anything really to compare to. Is it worth it in the long run to spend the $200 extra for 24 gb over 16?

AndyMacAndMic

macrumors 65816
May 25, 2017
Western Europe